Published On:30 March 2013
Posted by Indian Muslim Observer

Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi unanimously re-elected AIMPLB president for 5th consequetive time

By Pervez Bari

Ujjain: As speculated noted Muslim cleric of national and international repute Maulana Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi has been unanimously re-elected president of the All India Muslim Personal Law Board, (AIMPLB), an apex body of Muslims, for the fifth time on Saturday in its 23rd annual conference which is being held here in Jamia Arabia Siraj-ul-Uloom at the outskirts of historical town Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh.

Maulana Rabey, Rector of the Nadwatul Ulema, a famous Islamic university in Uttar Pradesh capital Lucknow, will head the AIMPLB, which was formed four decades ago to protect the “Shariah” or the Islamic laws. This will be his fourth consecutive term. He was first elected in April 2002 following the death of Qazi Mujahid-ul-Islam Qasmi in Hyderabad.

Maulana Rabey later picked his team for the fifth term wherein he nominated his old panel which included Maulana Syed Nizamuddin as general secretary of AIMPLB, Adv. Abdurrahim Qureshi as Asstt. general secretary, Maulana Syed Wali Rahmani as secretary and other office-bearers of the outgoing team. A 40-member executive body was unanimously elected wherein all the members who had completed their three year term were re-elected. A few new members of the executive committee were elected in place of those who had passed away in last three years. The highlight of the executive Committee election was that for the first time representation from Madhya Pradesh was given when Congress leader Arif Masood of Bhopal was elected.

Later, Maulana Rabey will nominate 10 members to the Executive Committee of AIMPLB to make it 50-member body. There was no contest for any post and also for the executive body.
Meanwhile, eight members which included Maulana Abul Qasim of Islamic seminary at Deoband, P. Rafeeq Ahmad of Chennai, Habeeb Bandvi (UP) etc. were elected unanimously among the 102 Asasi Arakeen (founder members) category in place of those who have left for their heavenly abode. Vacancies arise due to resignation or death of any founder member.
Six members were elected to the Meeqati (periodical member for 3 years) category. They are: Maulana Saeed-ur-Rahman Azmi Nadwi, Principal Nadwatul Ulema; Peerzadah Sheikh (Andhra Pradesh); Mateen Qadri (Hyderabad) Zaheer Qazi (Maharashtra); Hafiz Qari Mohammad Taqui (Ujjain, MP); Prof. Haleem Khan (Indore, MP).

It may be recalled here that Qazi Mujahidul Islam Qasmi’s death had created a void leading to speculation that there would be a contest for the board’s top post. But the then 201 member general council elected Maulana Rabey without contest on the second day of the 16th session of the board in Hyderabad. Maulana Rabey is the fourth president of the board, which represents Islamic scholars of all schools of thought and prominent Muslim leaders. The board has had only three presidents so far. Qari Muhammad Tayyab Qasmi was the first president. Islamic scholar Maulana Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadvi succeeded him in the late 1980s and continued in the post till his death on December 31st, 1999. Thereafter, Qazi Mujahid-ul-Islam Qasmi was unanimously elected AIMPLB president till his death.

It may be mentioned here that Maulana Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi was born on October 1, 1929 at Takia Kalan, Raebareli in the family of Syed Rasheed Ahmad Hasani and Ummatul Azeez. Mohtarmah Ummatul Azeez was sister of Maulana Syed Abul Ahasan Ali Nadvi alias Ali Mian Nadvi. He completed his primary education from his family maktab at Raebareli, Passed Fazilat from Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow in 1958. He spend year 1957 at Darul Uloom, Deoband for one year and the year 1950-51 in Hijaz in for education and Dawah.

Maulana Rabey is nephew of former President Hazrat Maulana Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi @ Ali Mian (Rahamatullah Aley). He was appointed as assistant teacher at Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema after completing studies in 1949. He remained at Hijaz (K.S.A.) I from 1950-1951 for further studies and research. In 1952 he was appointed Assistant Professor at Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow. He was appointed the Head of Arabic Department at Nadwa in 1955. He was appointed the Dean, Faculty of Arabic of Nadwa in 1970. He was conferred award by Indian Council Uttar Pradesh for his contribution in the field of Arabic language. He was also conferred Presidential Award for his contribution in the field of Arabic language in the same year. In 1993 he was appointed Muhtamim (Vice Chancellor) of Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema. In 1999 he was appointed Naib Nazim (Chancellor) of the Nadwa and in 2000, after death of Hazrat Maulana Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi (Rahamatullah Aley); he was elected as Nazim (Rector) of Nadwa.

He has travelled to Japan, Morocco, Malaysia, Egypt, Tunisia, Algeria, Uzbekistan, Turkey, South Africa and many other Arab, European and African countries. He has published 15 books in Arabic and 12 books in Urdu besides having many unpublished works. He is acclaimed for his scholarship.

Maulana Rabey is also Vice President of the Aalami Rabita Adab-e-Islami, Riyadh (K.S.A.); President, Majlis-e-Tehqiqat-o-Nashariyat Islam, Lucknow; President, Majlis-e-Sahafat-o-Nashariyat, Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow; President, Deeni Taleemi Council, Uttar Pradesh; President, Dar-e-Arfat, Raebareli; Founder Member, Rabita Aalam-e-Islami, Makka Mukarrmah; Member, Darul Musannffin, Azamgarh; Trustee, Oxford Centre of Islamic Studies, Oxford University, UK; Patron, Payam-e-Insaniyat and Patron, Islamic Fiqh Academy (India).

[Pervez Bari is a senior Journalist based at Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. He is associated with IndianMuslimObserver.com as Bureau Chief (Madhya Pradesh). He can be contacted at pervezbari@eth.net]

About the Author

Posted by Indian Muslim Observer on March 30, 2013. Filed under , , , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Feel free to leave a response

By Indian Muslim Observer on March 30, 2013. Filed under , , , , . Follow any responses to the RSS 2.0. Leave a response

0 comments for "Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi unanimously re-elected AIMPLB president for 5th consequetive time"

Leave a reply

Editor's Pick

SPECIAL REPORT: Indian religious leaders strongly protest against South Korean government hounding of Shincheonji Church despite cooperation to contain COVID-19 spread

By Danish Ahmad Khan The government of South Korea is pursuing a discriminatory policy towards Shincheonji Church while accusing it of COVI...

IMO Search Finder

Subscribe IMO