Published On:07 September 2011
Posted by Indian Muslim Observer

Haryana emerge overall champs in National Jr. Athletics

Muthukumaran fastest athlete with new National record, Mohammad Iqrar creates Meet record in shot put

By Pervez Bari

Bhopal: Haryana with total 32 gold, 17 silver and 10 bronze medals emerged overall champions in the 23rd National Inter-zonal Junior Athletics Championships which concluded at the Tatya Tope Stadium here on Sunday.

Tamil Nadu remained overall runners-up with 24 gold, 14 silver and 13 bronze medals to their credit. In the Boys category Haryana ruled the roost by garnering 21 gold, 10 silver and 6 bronze medals to stamp their class as champions and Maharashtra were runners-up with 12 gold, 11 silver and 14 bronze medals. While in the Girls section Tamil Nadu pocketed 13 gold, 10 silver and 9 bronze medals to triumph as champions and Haryana had to be content with runners-up tag with 11 gold, 7 silver and 4 bronze medals in their kitty.

Maharashtra with a haul of 21 gold, 19 silver and 26 bronze medals stood at third spot in the final medal tally.

Hosts Madhya Pradesh grabbing 14 medals which included four silver and 10 bronze stood 11th in the overall final medal tally. The state boys won four silver and six bronze medals while the girls earned four bronze medals.

Two new National Record, (NR), were created, nine National Meet Record, (NMR) were established and one meet record was equaled in the three-day championship.

On the third and final day one National Record was made in 100 meters when in Boys Under-18 category Tamil Nadu’s Praveen Muthukumaran, who became the fastest athlete of the championship, clocked a timing of 10.75 sec. He broke the existing National record of Krishnan Kumar Rane of Maharashtra who had a timing of 10.78 sec in 2005. This was also NMR for Praveen in 100 meters. He had one more NMR to his credit in Boys Under-18 long jump when he galloped a distance of 7.25 meters. He erased the NMR of Amrit Paul of North Zone who had cleared 7.16 meters in the year 2000.

B. Kantha Rao of Andhra Pradesh in 400 meters hurdles and Arun M.S. of Tamil Nadu in 100 meters Boys Under-14 established NMR on Sunday. Kantha touched the finishing tape in 53.88 sec and thereby bettered the NMR by 0.04 sec. The existing NMR was 53.92 sec in the name of Lukmal Hakkim of South Zone made on September 3, 2009. While Arun breasted the tape in 11.53 sec to eclipse NMR of 11.85 sec standing in the name of A. Pavithran of South who did it on September 3, 2009.

Another NMR of the day was established in 4x400 relay race in Boys Under-20 when Haryana team anchored the race in 3:19.15 sec. to erase 22 years old record of North Zone which had the timing of 3:20.30 in 1989. The quartet of Amit Kumar, Deepak Mor, Mandeep and Pardeep did Haryana proud by winning the gold medal.

Jharkhand’s Asian Youth Games champion Namita Kabat took the junior women 800m title clocking 2:18.14 sec. Kerala girl Aparna gave a good challenge to Namita till the wire and finished second in a credible 2:18.50 sec.

Karnataka jumper Harshith was once again on the limelight when he sailed over 2.08m in high jump for youth boys. His winning height was a well 5 cm above that of junior men’s winner Gowtham of Tamil Nadu in this event.

In Boys Under-16 hammer throw Sabeel Ahmad of Uttar Pradesh won the gold medal when he flung the iron ball to a distance of 58.87 meters. Divaspad Tripathi of Madhya Pradesh and Shivam of Jharkhand won silver and bronze medals respectively.

Meanwhile, on the second day Mohammad Iqrar of Uttar Pradesh and Baljinder Singh of Maharashtra had created two meet records in the championship. Iqrar made the meet record in shot put when he hurled the iron ball to a distance of 15.96 meters. He improved the NMR of state-mate Sivendu Mishra who had thrown the ball to distance of 15.51 meters in 2010. Baljinder Singh in Boys Under-18 Octathlon with 5338 points to his credit won the gold medal. Kundan of Haryana in Boys Under-18 equaled the meet record of Pamender of Uttar Pradesh in pole vault when he cleared a height of 4.30 meters.

Mahesh Joshi, the former Madhya Pradesh Sports Minister, was the chief guest at the closing ceremony. BJP MLA Deepak Joshi, Madhya Pradesh Sports Director Dr. Shailendra Shrivastava, Madhya Pradesh Athletic Association general secretary Mumtaz Khan were present amongst others on the occasion.

[Pervez Bari is a Journalist based at Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. He can be contacted at pervezbari@eth.net]

About the Author

Posted by Indian Muslim Observer on September 07, 2011. Filed under , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Feel free to leave a response

By Indian Muslim Observer on September 07, 2011. Filed under , , . Follow any responses to the RSS 2.0. Leave a response

0 comments for "Haryana emerge overall champs in National Jr. Athletics"

Leave a reply

Editor's Pick

SPECIAL REPORT: Indian religious leaders strongly protest against South Korean government hounding of Shincheonji Church despite cooperation to contain COVID-19 spread

By Danish Ahmad Khan The government of South Korea is pursuing a discriminatory policy towards Shincheonji Church while accusing it of COVI...

IMO Search Finder

Subscribe IMO